Missing posts / members X
Philosophy Forums was hacked on September 6th. Due to the hacker, everything between July 24th and September 6th is permanently missing. Unfortunately, automated backups had to be turned off months ago because they were crashing the server. We're evaluating how to stop this from happening again. You may be able to find your own posts in a google cache to re-post them, if you want to.

Plato's "Allegory of the Cave" in art?

Plato's "Allegory of the Cave" in art?
Xyiin

Usergroup: Members

Total Topics: 1
Total Posts: 0
#1 - Quote - Permalink
Posted Feb 10, 2005 - 4:54 PM:
Subject: Plato's "Allegory of the Cave" in art?
I just took my first ethics class and began reading the republic so i'm very new to philosophy in general, but in reading about the allegory of the cave, i couldn't help but draw some comparison in the arts. Also a few aspects of art have been confusing me and i'm glad i found this forum, hopefully someone can shed some light onto these questions for me. smiling face

The allegory of the cave basically draws a comparison on the freeing into the real world of a man who lived in a cave of shadows all his life with the kind of insight and higher-level thinking achieved by the philosopher. After the freed man had seen much of the real world, if he were to return (or forced to return) into the world of shadows, his attempts at making the other prisoners understand, as they would probably think of him as being crazy.