Act Utilitarianism Vs. Rule Utilitarianism
markchang

Usergroup: Members

Total Topics: 4
Total Posts: 1
#1 - Quote - Permalink
Posted Sep 28, 2006 - 11:36 PM:
Subject: Act Utilitarianism Vs. Rule Utilitarianism
Hi every one! I am new to ethics and need clarification on Act Utilitarianism and Rule Utilitarianism.
What exactly is the difference between the two? please explain and give some real life examples to illustrate how these two theories works if possible. thanks so much!

markchang

#2 - Quote - Permalink
Posted Sep 29, 2006 - 7:20 AM:

no one wants to help?
poului

Total Topics: 1
Total Posts: 0
#3 - Quote - Permalink
Posted Sep 29, 2006 - 7:21 AM:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Utilitarianism

wikipedia is your friend.

markchang

#4 - Quote - Permalink
Posted Oct 1, 2006 - 9:04 PM:

you are also my friend
No_Cities_Left

#5 - Quote - Permalink
1 of 1 people found this post helpful
Posted Oct 1, 2006 - 9:24 PM:

markchang wrote:
Hi every one! I am new to ethics and need clarification on Act Utilitarianism and Rule Utilitarianism.
What exactly is the difference between the two? please explain and give some real life examples to illustrate how these two theories works if possible. thanks so much!

I will try to keep it simple... based on what I can remember.

Rule Utilitarianism follows "moral rules" in which there are exceptions. Therefore Rule Utilitarian cannot exist because it simply becomes act utilitarianism. In act utilitarianism a choice is made based on the best possible consequences.

Rule Utilitarianism would say lying is wrong/

Imagine Germany during nazism, and a german family was hiding jewish citizens in their household.

SS troops come to your door and ask "are you hiding any jews?"

a rule utilitarian would say yes, because they defined lying as wrong. But they say there are exceptions to their rules, and in this case it would be an exception because utility is greatest if they lie.